Lentil Rice Casserole (Great for Tacos & Burritos!)

This recipe is healthy, easy, quick, and super economical. Based on Sue Gregg’s Taste & Tell Recipes, a free whole foods recipe sampler (available online here), this is one of my favorite Sunday lunch dishes. It cooks while we’re at church, so I have very little prep when I get home. Also great for those mornings when you realize you have no supper planned; throw it together to soak after breakfast, and put it in the oven during naptime. We like it best in burritos.

(NOTE: I like this better than Hillbilly Housewife’s Taco Style Lentils and Rice. It’s easier, and turns out better.)

Lentil Rice Casserole

YIELD: About 3 Cups (4 – 6 Servings)

1. Blend together in a casserole dish and let stand overnight or 7 hours for improved nutrition:

  • 3 cups water
  • ³⁄₄ cup uncooked lentils, washed as needed
  • ¹⁄₂ cup uncooked brown rice, washed as needed
  • juice of ¹⁄₂ lemon (about 1 tbsp.; acid improves release of nutrients)

2. Add just before baking:

  • 3 – 4 tablespoons soy sauce, to taste
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • seasonings of your choice; see note below

3. Bake covered at 300° for 2 – 2¹⁄₂ hours or until tender and the water is absorbed.

4. Just before serving, fold in cheese, top with parsley (for burritos serve the cheese separately).

  • ³⁄₄ cup grated cheddar cheese, optional
  • chopped fresh parsley, optional

5. To serve in burritos, prepare your favorite toppings and put them in bowls, buffet-style. We use whole wheat tortillas. Here are some ideas:

  • lettuce/spinach
  • tomatoes
  • salsa/enchilada sauce
  • peppers
  • sour cream!
  • cheddar cheese, or Mexican cheese blend

SEASONING NOTES: For the seasonings, you can cater them to whatever you’re serving that day. If this is a side dish for beef or chicken, or example, consider using the spices recommended in the original recipe:

  • ¹⁄₂ teaspoon basil leaves
  • ¹⁄₄ teaspoon oregano leaves
  • ¹⁄₄ teaspoon thyme leaves
  • ¹⁄₄ teaspoon garlic powder

For tacos or burritos, I kind of wing the amounts of the following:

  • cumin (lots!)
  • chili powder
  • crushed or minced garlic (or garlic powder)
  • oregano
  • paprika

If you need more specific measurements and don’t like my “wing it” method, try 1/4 tsp of each (1/2 of cumin) and increase or decrease as you figure out your tastes.

6 thoughts on “Lentil Rice Casserole (Great for Tacos & Burritos!)

  1. Lentils are truly a miracle food. I love that they only take 15 minutes to cook. Thanks for the recipe.

    A common salad here has sliced boiled egg and lentils on top. I like using butter lettuce. To save time, I cook lentils the day before with some veggie broth, refrigerate so the juice mingles, and then throw them on a fast salad when I don’t feel like cooking. Also, you can eat them on crackers.

    Cheers!

  2. I think the sentence I like best in this post is “great for those mornings when you realize you have no supper planned”….um…what if you’re more of a “great for those evenings when you realize you have no supper planned” person?? 🙂

  3. I made it today. Yummy! And I don’t even really like lentils! But the biggest surprise of all was that all 3 girls ate it and…had seconds!!! We put it in tacos. And we had another 8 year old over for dinner and she ate it (though I don’t know if she liked it). And it was so easy to make! Just remember to start early enough.

  4. So glad you liked it, Theresa. I surprised me, too, when both my girls gobbled it the first time we ate it in burritos.

    I think sour cream can cover a multitude of lentils (for those of you who thought you didn’t like them).

  5. Hey Serina, i googled rice and lentil casserole and your blog came up as the 4th hit–guess I’ll have to make it! miss you at the haven–hope the beebs are good!

Leave a comment