Happy First Birthday, Callan North!

A year ago today, I (finally) gave birth to this gorgeous little wonder after an epic 18 hour labor. He was two days past my due date.

Callan North, minutes old, 1/9/10

And now the impossible has happened. My baby has pushed the fast forward button and up and turned one on me.

Cal today, 1/9/11

He is an amazing little fellow. His name means “warrior” or “mighty in battle,” and he certainly has a feisty streak. His personality is really starting to assert itself lately; I think a fourth baby realizes he’s got to be a little louder to be heard. He crawls (he just moved from his belly to hands-and-knees, only with one knee and one foot–so funny!), babbles (“mama,” “hi,” “dee dee”/baby), arches his back fiercely when he’s not satisfied with the situation, eats a little food now and then, and loves to be one of the crew. He eats more non-food than food (loves dust bunnies) and makes homeschooling an extra special challenge some days. He is a big bundle of love and hugs, loves to hand out open-mouthed baby kisses, and will actually lay his head on your shoulder when he wants to give you a hug.

I have never written his birth story. I still think about it, process it in small bits, and I think it will come out in due course. It was one of the hardest things I have ever done.

But the reward–oh, the reward. I just love him. Happy birthday, dear one. Don’t grow up too fast.

He held his strong little head up from day one.

(To see more pictures of Callan in the early days, click here.)

2 thoughts on “Happy First Birthday, Callan North!

Leave a comment