Wee Weka Knickers

Not much time for a full write up on this knicker sewing experience, either, but here are some pics, a quick summary, and links at the bottom. To protect the kids, no pictures of their faces will be shown (since they’re wearing some pervy googler-worthy stuff). To see all the cute pics, go to this album. Click on the sub-album entitled “Knicker and Diaper.” It’s a two-page album. (The view-only password is my firstborn’s first name followed by my secondborn’s full first name, all typed together like one word.) Go to the pattern page for more info on this great knicker/trainer pattern!

Front view:

Inside back – I used an old t-shirt of Jason’s to add a four-layer mini-soaker for these trainers:

Back view on:

I sewed these knickers out of an old t-shirt of mine. The little blue bow was from an old spool of ribbon I had in my drawer. The waist ended up being too big, so I added elastic after the fact. Now they stay up nicely! Next time, I will decrease the rise by lowering the front about and inch and scooping down gently from the side. I will also just add elastic from the beginning; I was hoping to make them snug enough to be worn without, but when you add a soaker panel, they’re a bit too heavy to be held up without elastic.

Link to the .pdf file that contains a pattern and full instructions:
Wee Weka Knickers

Link to the site that has this free pattern, plus many others:
The Nappy Network – Do It Yourself Nappies

4 thoughts on “Wee Weka Knickers

  1. these are awesome, serina! so professional…i’m too embarrassed to post close-ups of my pants. 🙂 adorable. love the bow! 🙂
    ~liz

  2. Wow! How neat that you made those yourself! They are absolutely adorable.

    I wish I knew how to turn on my sewing machine- that would be a good start to sewing, don’t you think? 😉

  3. Wow. Serina, you’re awesome! These are super cute!
    By the way, I tagged you on my blog’s most recent post. Check it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

