Oatmeal Bread

Right after having Asher, my friend Keira brought over a meal that included (among many other tasty things) this oatmeal bread. We were hooked right away. I then got a copy of the cookbook from the library and tried the recipe for myself. Soooooo tasty! Not for whole grain purists, but still a semi-healthy bread. This makes the best toast. I can seriously eat the whole loaf myself.

Oatmeal Bread

From More With Less Cookbook by Doris Janzen Longacre.

Combine in large bowl:

  • 1 c quick oats
  • 1/2 c whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 c brown sugar (I used Sucanat)
  • 1 T salt
  • 2 T margarine (I used butter)

Pour Over:

  • 2 c. boiling water

Stir in to combine.

Dissolve:

  • 1 pkg dry yeast (1 scant T)Β  in 1/2 c. warm water.

When batter is cooled to lukewarm, add yeast.

Stir in:

  • 5 c white flour (I’m experimenting with various amounts of whole wheat flour)

When dough is stiff enough to handle, turn onto floured surface and knead 5-10 minutes. Place in greased bowl, cover, and let rise until doubled. Punch down, and let rise again. Shape into 2 loaves and place in greased 9x5x3 pans. Bake at 350 for 30-40 minutes. Cool on rack, brushing loaves with margarine (butter!) for a soft crust.

Note: These rising instructions just baffle me. Putting the bread into the pans after rising, and baking right away, produces small, dense loaves. They still taste good, but the bread disappears waaaay too fast. So, I recommend dividing the dough into two loaves after the first rise and doing the second rise in the bread pans. Then, place the bread in the oven without punching down the second time. You should get taller loaves this way.

10 thoughts on “Oatmeal Bread

  1. Quick oats. I’m thinking it would work with rolled oats, as well, but I can’t say from experience.

    The co-op was out of steel cut oats one day, so I bought quick oats, which were on sale. πŸ™‚ Now, I keep a jar around for this recipe.

  2. I hope tomorrow goes well for y’all. Praying that you get lots done. Take lots of deep breaths. It will get done!

    And, yum…oatmeal bread. I’m making some more tomorrow. It’s the bread of choice around here lately.

  3. This is always the bread of choice, but I have to mix in some all-whole grain bread to keep things interesting.

    Do you use all white flour, or mix in any whole wheat?

    Do you follow the original rising directions, or my amended ones?

    Just wondering.

  4. The loaves at the work party followed the exact recipe above.

    I always used ww flour for the oatmeal part. For the five cups of unbleached white added later, I have subbed up to two cups of whole wheat flour and still enjoyed the bread very much.

    Honestly, though, if I want a whole wheat oatmeal bread, I use the Laurel’s Kitchen oatmeal bread recipe, which is all whole grain and very tasty. But not the same as this one, for sure.

  5. I don’t want to suggest anything that would change that delicious bread! But it sounds to me as if something is missing from the directions. Lots of recipes call for a second in-bowl rising (supposedly this produces a finer grain), but as you said, there needs to be a rising in the pans, also.

  6. SursumCorda, I’m usually in too much of a hurry, or I would do two rises in the bowl, divide the dough, third rise in pans, bake. If I ever have the patience to try, I’ll report back.

    Like you said, it’s a pretty good bread already, and I only do first rise/divide/second rise in pans/bake. So it’s easy to be lazy about it.

Leave a Reply

