West African Peanut Chicken

We tried West African Peanut Chicken*, by Mary of Owlhaven, last night. It is totally delicious. All five of us liked it! She tweaked hers from the Chicken in Peanut-Tomato Sauce from The Congo Cookbook. I’m going to try the original next. You should try them both, too. And tell me how it worked out for you.

(By the way, how excited am I to try about a million recipes from The Congo Cookbook? Um, very.)

*Modifications: I used bacon grease (yummmmmmmm) instead of peanut oil, natural peanut butter (just peanuts, no oil or salt or sugar added), and simmered longer than the 10-15 minutes recommended. I liked the thicker texture, as mine was somewhat runny after 15 minutes. All served over brown rice.

One thought on “West African Peanut Chicken

  1. when I was talking to Maya, she said “mommy’s making Peanut butter chicken!” Questioning, I said “peanut butter chicken?” she responded, “yes!” And I just couldn’t imagine how that could be good or real.

    West African Peanut Chicken sounds much more appetizing! She was close though. 🙂

Leave a comment