Plum Tuckered Out

I have mostly enjoyed posting every day of November thus far, but today is one of those days that I’m all NaBloPoMoed out. Just tired from a busy weekend, but I’m sure I’ll be back, fresh-as-a-daisy, tomorrow morning. I’ll postpone the Christmas Gift Ideas 2010: Dress Up post until then. But see? Here I am, still posting, because I want to see this thing through ’til the end. A few bullet points for you, then I’m relaxing these typing fingers:

  • Had fun celebrating Thanksgiving with J’s side of the family Thursday, and my side of the family today. It was great to see everyone and remember how much I have to be thankful for.
  • I’ve pretty much been eating non-stop for the past four days, and it really must stop. All that baby weight I finally lost is going to creep right back on!
  • Speaking of baby weight – I have recently dropped all of my Cal, Asher, and Ellery pregnancy weight. But that stubborn 20 lbs. that I gained after having Maya (it’s really nursing weight, not baby weight, as my body likes to add/hang on to fat while I nurse) just won’t let go. I’m hoping that someday, when Cal is done nursing, I will have a chance to lose that last 20 lbs. (and perhaps a few extra, too). That would make me pretty happy.
  • In the mean time, I’d like to get out and walk more, just to stay in shape. I am plenty active with these kids and taking care of our little farm, but sometimes nothing beats a meditative prayer and/or thinking walk, you know? Good for body and soul. It’s difficult to find the time, as my days are packed to the brim, and my husband isn’t around when it’s daylight for me to go walking. I need creative suggestions for ways to make it happen. Got any?
  • We lost one more chicken over Thanksgiving. To a hawk. In the woods. (Many chickens,  including ours, are good at hiding from hawks in the woods/brush. But no one told these hawks that they’re not supposed to hunt there. Our first hawk attack, wherein the chicken survived, was in the woods, still lush from summer growth. This last death was also in the woods, though a more barren late fall variety. Apparently we have smart hawks who don’t avoid the woods like others do?) The chickens have been kept locked up since yesterday. Today, I looked out the window and saw a hawk brazenly land on top of one of our chicken coops! He was looking for a way in, no doubt. He waited a minute after seeing me before flying away. I know he can’t get it, so I wasn’t worried.
  • But what am I going to do? I hate locking those chickens up.
2 thoughts on “Plum Tuckered Out

  1. I usesd to wake up early to make it to a YMCA class before the rest of the family woke up. Our budget doesn’t allow it now, so I try (at least a few times a week) to get up around 5:30 and either run outside or do a workout video. On Saturday mornings, J. and I make time for longer workouts and try really hard not to let anything get in the way with that. Running/walking partners help. As hard as it is, I find I have SO much more energy if I get my exercise and quiet time in first thing in the morning. It sets the tone for the day.

Leave a Reply

