First Chick of 2012!

We have a baby! Our first little chicked just hatched around 3:30 p.m. today. There are six other eggs pipped, one zipping. The little firstborn is very noisy, and he is doing a great job entertaining my children with all of his cheeping.

Here’s a hatch, from pip to out:

This is what a pip looks like (second egg from the front on the left). This is not the egg that you will see hatch below, but one nearby.
This is our first chick "zipping--" that is, pipping all the way around the top, as if he's unzipping himself. Then he'll pop off the top and come out.
That's a chick tush right there! And his leg on the right.
He's mostly out!
He's out, but exhausted. Being born is hard work.
Here he is, minutes later, completely out of the egg. He's been alternately napping and cheeping right on top of the other eggs. In this incubator (a Brinsea Octagon 20 Eco), there's not a lot of room. (Neither is it roomy underneath a mama hen, I might add.)

I will post fluffy chicks later, once he’s dry.

One thought on “First Chick of 2012!

  1. Hi Serina! I just came across your blog when searching for ideas about the Amy Butler Birdie Sling pattern. I’m making it for my daughter who is having our first grandchild (so exciting!). I know this isn’t a comment about your new little chicks (which are gorgeous by the way), but I didn’t know how else to contact you. In a previous post, you talked about making the Birdie Sling with an adjustable strap….EXACTLY what my daughter wants. Would you be willing to share your ideas on how to do that? It would be very helpful. I have my fabric ready to go and am struggling with how to make the strap like my daughter wants/needs it. She too wants to wear it across her body.

    ALSO…I too am a follower of Jesus…nothing matters more than Him and my relationship with him. So excited to celebrate Easter this weekend.

    Thanks so much. I hope to hear from you soon!

    Denise
    huzz@shaw.ca

Leave a Reply

