More Pumpkin Goodness

We have really been enjoying our pumpkin harvest. There are about a half dozen pie pumpkins left, and I probably ought to roast them and freeze the puree before long. I read that pumpkins don’t keep as well as other winter squash, so I want to be sure and preserve them before they rot.

Home roasted homegrown pumpkin is sooooo good!

Two recipes I’ve been digging:

  • Stevia Sweetened Pumpkin Pudding – In a startling departure from my standard pumpkin pudding recipe (which I’ve been making steadily since Tricia introduced me to it about three years ago), I’ve made this twice in the past week. I’ve been trying to cut back drastically on white sugar, so the stevia aspect of the recipe caught my eye. Additionally, now that we have a nicely laying flock, I’m always looking for a way to use up our eggs. This new recipe uses four eggs (versus the two in the other recipe). I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9 x 13 dish, using eight eggs (!) and only 1 teaspoon of powdered stevia. It’s so amazingly delicious. I love how creamy and flavorful it is, without being overpoweringly sweet. It does have a slight stevia aftertaste, as many stevia sweetened foods do, but I imagine that could be reduced by buying the right brand of stevia. It doesn’t bother me in the least. I’ve made it with both heavy cream and coconut milk, and it tasted just about the same to me. I favor the dairy-free version because my body doesn’t like dairy too much. I’m sure I’ll still have many uses for the old pumpkin pudding recipe, but for now, this is hitting the spot.
  • Pumpkin Cheesecake – My honey turned 33 last week (happy birthday, babe!) and he requested a pumpkin cheesecake for his celebratory dessert. Now, I know I must’ve made cheesecake at some point in my adult life, because we own three very new-looking springform pans that we’ve been moving from house to house for years. But I honestly can’t remember ever making a cheesecake, so I don’t think it counts. So for my first(ish) cheesecake, it turned out very well! (Did I mention that cheesecake is probably my favorite dessert, and also that I have no self control when it comes to such things? This is why I never make cheesecake. Seriously, the leftovers just kill me. They aren’t leftover for long…) Anyways, while I used the recipe here, I followed the baking instructions here (reliable old Martha). Mostly because my only roasting pan large enough for a water bath wasn’t very handy. It turned out great, beautiful with no cracks, and I’m inspired to make more cheesecake for special occasions around here.
  • Pumpkin Spice Latte – Okay, so I haven’t actually made this yet, but I’m going to.

(ETA: I’m realizing now that it doesn’t look like I’m trying very hard to reduce my refined sugar intake, but honest, I am!)

7 thoughts on “More Pumpkin Goodness

  1. YUM! i make so many pumpkin recipes at this time of year. i can’t get enough of my pumpkin bread, pumpkin cookies, pumpkin flan, pumpkin butter, pumpkin gobs….this post hit the spot. kenny loves cheesecake (i do not), so maybe i’ll surprise him with your pumpkin cheesecake recipe. usually i make him an irish cream chocolate cheesecake…but i could actually consider eating one if it were made with PUMPKIN! 🙂

  2. Thanks for sharing! I’ve just been digging out some pumpkin recipes to start making again. Cheesecake is also a weakness of mine- and that sounds delicious. I saw a recipe for pumpkin chocolate cheesecake in Simply in Season that I thought looked good.

  3. I always make a pumpkin cheesecake every year for thanksgiving…and it’s soooo good! I use chocolate graham crackers for the crust..mmm! And, I too, cannot restrain myself (especially as of late) and leftovers hardly exist, even with a family of 2 (oh! I mean 3!). This is why I only make it once a year. Glad you got yours in.

    Homemade pumpkin puree is definitely the best. 🙂 My pumpkin this year is a sugar pumpkin, so that I can puree it for some pumpkin bread. My mouth is watering just thinking about it.

    1. oh dear, only one pumpkin to roast? i’d never be able to decide what to do with it. i thought i’d go crazy, with all of the pumpkin eating, but i’m not even close to being sick of it.

Leave a comment