Prayers for Callan

Callan was less than 12 hours old when he had difficulty breathing and turned blue. It happened twice in two hours, and the second episode was longer than I was able to handle comfortably. So Jason and I made the difficult decision to bring him into the ER last night. They admitted him onto the pediatric floor for observation, and we were there from around 3 a.m. until 1 p.m. Now we are home.

In the end, there is no clear reason why he is choking. His lungs are clear, his blood tests were fine, and hours on an apnea monitor revealed no problems. He just has extra fluid, perhaps from a quick passage through the birth canal (labor was long, but the pushing phase was very short) and being born in his bag of waters. He chokes on it and can’t breathe, sometimes for uncomfortably long seconds, and it worries me. But we are praying that it gets better as he goes through his first few days.

Please join me in praying that this stops soon. It often happens when I’m changing his diaper, which is not something I can avoid doing.

19 thoughts on “Prayers for Callan

  1. Our little girl did that too, it took her exactly five minutes from the time my water broke till she was born. Our midwife was also a ND so we didn’t have to bring her to the ER. She had trouble breathing when I would change her diaper, almost like she was just holding her breath for what seemed like a long time. I don’t remember her doing it much after the first three days, she just needed to get rid of all that extra gunk in her lungs. Prays coming your way!

  2. My wife is amazing. There is no better caregiver I could think of for Callan. Thanks for your prayers, everyone!

  3. You are in our prays. Thanks you for a specfic request we can take to the Lord. You are an amazing mom and my heart aches for your time in the hosptial with such a delicate newbie.

    Aimee

  4. I will pray for Callan, too. (I found my way here through Happy Hermit.)

    Since it often happens when you’re changing his diaper, could it be the position he is in, since you have to lift his lower body to clean him? I wonder if it would help to raise his upper body with a pillow while you change him.

  5. thinking of you.

    Henry was also had a very quick passage, and had episodes of “periodic breathing” where he would pant, and then be fine. It was scary…hugs, I hope it passes quickly as he gets stronger each day.

  6. Praying for you both. My daughter did this as well for a couple weeks after birth (birth was a grand total of 7 minutes). Scared me half to death!! She eventually seemed to grow out of it, but she always seemed to choke on things very easily since (she’s 5 now). However my youngest daughter (3) is an easy choker too and she never had the choking as an infant thing, so the two may not be related. Praying that this passes quickly.

    Mandy

  7. sending prayers for callan and all of your family as well.
    it would be scary, poor little guy :(.
    since callan is having problems while u are changing him supporting his head may help because as you are lifting his bottom end the weight of his body goes towards his throat area so it might be cutting off oxygen since the neck and chin area would be somewhat pushed down, just a thought.
    so i think sabina may be right in the need of support for the head area ;).
    good luck and congrats on the arrival of your new tot.

  8. This has happened with all of my children, but not as bad as with my my new little one. He was born and pushed out so quickly and my water broke just minutes before he was born. All tests showed him to be fine, but the choking and not breathing is just awful.

    Prayers!

Leave a comment