Bulletproof Pumpkin Spice Latte, Trim Healthy Mama Style

20131112-105546.jpg

Bulletproof coffee (originally seen here) is a fantastic concept that I’ve really enjoyed playing around with. I was really craving a good PSL with pure pumpkin, and this is what I came up with. This recipe is an S, for those following the plan.

TIPS:
**I have successfully reduced the butter to 1 tsp when I want a less rich treat.
**I use a hand (immersion) blender in wide mouth mason jar with a towel wrapped around it. (Time to knit a jar cozy!)
**If you are not following Trim Healthy Mama, or if you are at goal weight, try 1-2 TBSP pure maple syrup as your sweetener. So rich and delicious!
**To get the pumpkin maple flavor without the sugar, I’m going to add maple extract next time.
**Replace the whey protein with heavy cream or coconut milk for a different creamy flavor. I like the whey protein to jump start my day, and it’s surprisingly creamy.
** I’ve been making coffee with an Aeropress and liking it a lot. It works well with this method.

Happy coffee drinking!

(Linked up to Trim Healthy Tuesday @ Gwen’s Nest)

7 thoughts on “Bulletproof Pumpkin Spice Latte, Trim Healthy Mama Style

Leave a comment